NFC vs AFC: What Is The Difference?

NFC vs AFC: The national football conferences NFC and the American football conferences AFC make up the American Football League. There are several differences between these 2 American football seasons. Let’s check out the major differences between these two American football tournaments in this post!

Comparison chart between NFC vs AFC

Introduction The NFC – National Football Conference is the major conference of the NFL – National Football League. This conference had 16 teams participating making up the 32 teams of the NFLThe AFC – American Football Conference is also the major conference of the NFL. This conference contains 16 teams participating, making up the 32 official teams of the NFL
League National Football LeagueNational Football League
Most Valuable Team Dallas Cowboys ($2.3 billion)New England Patriots ($1.8 billion)
Current Championship Philadelphia EaglesKansas City Chiefs
Number of the participant in a team 1616
Established time 19701970
North Division TeamsChicago Bears; Detroit Lions; Green Bay Packers; Minnesota VikingsBaltimore Ravens; Cincinnati Bengals; Cleveland Browns; Pittsburgh Steelers
South Division teamsAtlanta Falcons; Carolina Panthers; New Orleans Saints; Tampa Bay BuccaneersHouston Texans; Indianapolis Colts; Jacksonville Jaguars; Tennessee Titans
West Division clubs Arizona Cardinals; Los Angeles Rams; San Francisco 49ers; Seattle SeahawksDenver Broncos; Kansas City Chiefs; Oakland Raiders; San Diego Chargers
East Division Clubs Atlanta Falcons; Carolina Panthers; New Orleans Saints; Tampa Bay BuccaneersHouston Texans; Indianapolis Colts; Jacksonville Jaguars; Tennessee Titans
Super Bowls Championship 2124


The two tournament history comparison

The NFC and AFC football league were created after merging the National Football League (NFL) and the American Football League (AFL) in 1970. Before that time, The AFL had 8 teams played, the NFL had 13 teams. In 1969, the AFL tournament expanded its league to 10 and the NFL was expanded into 16 clubs. In order to balance 2 major American football leagues, the former AFL teams and several NFL teams which were: Cleveland Browns, Pittsburgh Steelers, and Baltimore Colts formed the AFC. And the remaining 13 National Football League teams had formed the NFC tournament.

After the merger of 2 significant tournaments, the National Football Conference was dominant in terms of Super Bowl victories throughout the 1970s. And the NFC won plenty of Super Bowls championships through the 1980s and mid-1990s with 13 victories in total. The 2 major conferences of American football have been more evenly matched until now. 

AFC vs NFC history comparison

NFC vs AFC Teams comparison

Both NFC and AFC are divided into 4 divisions which is: the north division, the south division, the east division, and the west division. There are 4 teams in each division, which makes the whole conference have 16 teams and the NFL has 32 teams in total.

In each season,  each team from the division will play against the other teams in their division twice. During the playoffs rounds, the top 6 leading teams of both AFC and NFC will play against each other. The last winning teams in each conference will have an opportunity to play in the Super Bowl matches.

NFC vs AFC Teams comparison

AFC vs NFC geography common

The NFC and AFC football league currently do not represent the geographical areas. Each American football league are having the same division. The American Football Conference teams are currently concentrated in the northeast of the USA which is being stretched from Massachusetts to Indiana. On the other side, the NFC teams are currently grouped in the Southern part of the United States of America, mostly around the Great Lakes region.

Financial comparison

Both the NFC and AFC work under a salary cap system, which means each team from the conferences has the same amount of money to pay for their player’s income. This salary cap is an effective way to keep the team or the conferences away from having a disproportionate amount of capital to work in the long term.

On the other side, the market value of each team in both the National Football Conference and AFC conferences is unrestricted. According to several statistics, the average network of football teams in the NFL is 1.17 billion, which makes the NFL the most valuable league in the world. In 2014, the NFC conference has 3 of the most valuable teams in the NFL, which include the Dallas Cowboys with a total price of 2.3 billion.

AFC vs NFC who plays more Super Bowl matches

The Super Bowl is an annual championship American football match of the NFL – National football league, the leading federation of American football. Since 1968, the Super Bowl matches have often been held on the second Sunday of February. This has been called Super Bowl Sunday.

The New England Patriots team and the Pittsburgh Steelers team from the American Football Conference conferences have won six Super Bowls, while the Dallas Cowboys and San Francisco 49ers teams from the National Football Conference conferences have won five times. A total of 20 teams have won at least one Super Bowl. The New England Patriots team has the highest number of participants with 11 times.

Here is the comparison between AFC and NFC, the 2 significant American Football conferences. Besides, you can see more in the same article “Copa America vs Euro Cup“.To find out about the sports which you are into, follow the website topic sporting difference for the latest information.

Similar Posts