De Gea won the Premier League Golden Glove Award

2-0 victory over Wolves helped goalkeeper David de Gea win the Golden Glove award for the 2022-2023 season of the English Premier League, three rounds early, despite Manchester United conceding the most goals among the top 4 teams.

At Old Trafford yesterday, De Gea didn’t have to make any saves as Wolves only had five off-target shots. This is the 16th time the Spanish goalkeeper has kept a clean sheet in the Premier League this season, officially making him the Golden Glove winner.

Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal), Alisson Becker (Liverpool), and Nick Pope (Newcastle) also had 13 clean sheets. Alisson and De Gea are excellent goalkeepers in the Premier League. If they prevent their opponents from scoring in their remaining three games, they will tie De Gea’s record of 16 clean sheets. Similarly, De Gea could improve his record in Man Utd’s remaining matches against Bournemouth on May 20, Chelsea on May 25, and Fulham on May 28. If he manages to do so, the 1990-born goalkeeper will win the Golden Glove award outright. However, if there are multiple goalkeepers with a maximum of 16 clean sheets, they will share the award.

Despite David de Gea winning the Golden Glove award, Manchester United conceded the most goals among the top 4 teams in the English Premier League with 41 goals. The records of Manchester City, Arsenal, and Newcastle are 31, 39, and 31 goals conceded respectively. “The Red Devils” also have the worst goal difference in the top 5 with +10. Manchester City, Arsenal, Newcastle, and Liverpool have +58, +44, +32, and +25 respectively.


This season, De Gea has faced criticism for making several mistakes, the latest being a fumbled save that led to Manchester United’s 0-1 loss to West Ham on May 7th. However, coach Erik ten Hag has affirmed that he has never considered benching De Gea and wants to extend his contract.

The Spanish goalkeeper has over a month left on his contract with Manchester United, with an option for an additional year. According to the UK’s Sportmail newspaper, Old Trafford is close to securing De Gea’s stay with the player agreeing to a significant reduction in his weekly salary of $450,000 compared to his current contract.

De Gea joined Man Utd from Atletico in 2011 and is currently the longest-serving player at Old Trafford. He won the Premier League Golden Glove in the 2017-2018 season with 18 clean sheets. In that season, under the guidance of Jose Mourinho, Man Utd finished second in the Premier League, behind champions Man City who set a record of 100 points.

According to statistics on the official Premier League website, De Gea has made 412 appearances, kept 146 clean sheets, won 222 games, and lost 91 games. He has made 1,147 saves, stopped four penalty kicks, punched the ball 136 times, rushed out of the penalty area to clear the ball 113 times, conceded 444 goals, made 17 errors leading to goals, and scored an own goal once. He has received six yellow cards, made a total of 9,286 passes, averaging 22.54 passes per game, and made 2,316 accurate long balls.


The Golden Glove Award was first presented in the 2004-2005 season and only one goalkeeper can receive the award. If multiple goalkeepers have the same number of clean sheets, the one with the highest clean sheet percentage will be honored. In the 2013-2014 season, this rule changed as the Golden Glove was awarded to goalkeepers with equal clean sheet records, regardless of the number of games they played. Last season, two Brazilian goalkeepers, Ederson and Alisson Becker, both received the award with 20 clean sheets.

Petr Cech was the first goalkeeper to win the Golden Glove and also set a record of 24 clean sheets in the 2004-2005 season. With four wins each, Cech and Joe Hart are the goalkeepers who have won the most awards. Among them, Cech is the only goalkeeper to win the award with two different clubs, Chelsea (three times) and Arsenal (once).

Pepe Reina was the first goalkeeper to win the Golden Glove three consecutive seasons, from 2006 to 2008. Later, two Man City goalkeepers replicated this achievement, with Hart from 2011 to 2013, and Ederson from 2020 to 2022.

Keep following SimilarSports to update the latest football news as well as sporting difference.

Similar Posts